Criterion #4: Reading and Writing

Activity XIV: Written Speech Analysis | Jimmy V “Don’t Ever Give Up”

“Don’t ever give up” as a statement may be hard to top off, but one I always think about is: “Live life like it’s your last day.” People get to say these statements in moments of frustration, or encouragement. I think Valvano uses good techniques for his delivery; he uses simplicity but certainty, and I like how he brought up his passion, and the sentiment Time gives him. I particularly think that’s the hook, making it personal. Time being so precious to him, regardless of having cancer, the man would still value his life, because with his speech I believe that’s what his principles are. He concluded his speech with his special motto, a CTA to Cancer, and his personal gratitude. After reading this, I feel motivated in every way; motivated to be thankful daily for my life, health, for my closed ones’ life, their health, and to never give up regardless of anything.

Mrs. Morales-Molina’s post → Jimmy V “Don’t Ever Give Up” ESPYS Speech Transcript

One thought on “Criterion #4: Reading and Writing”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *